Well, the election came on May 3rd 2007 and, unlike many Parish Councils, Mawnan elected the full complement of ten Councillors. Martin Barlow, Audrey Loomes, Anne Harris and Beth Lawry very quickly found their feet and undertook portfolio holder duties with dedicated responsibilities to the Council. Regrettably, Anne Harris resigned at Christmas for personal reasons, and David Gibbons was duly co-opted as her replacement.

The Council wishes to thank Anne for her dedication as portfolio holder for police, highways and traffic calming.

As Cornwall moves towards April 1st 2009 and the new Unitary Authority, your Council is actively considering what extra powers and responsibilities it feels able to administer. There is little doubt that Parish Councils will be expected to do more and will be seen as the second tier within local government.

Being a Councillor can be frustrating, one step forward and two steps back. Whilst many of the proposals that have been precepted for are moving ahead, it often seems a painfully slow process to get what we want and what we need. However, unless your Council is fighting for traffic calming measures, footpaths in Grove Hill
and the graveyard extension, this community will be left wanting and without local representation. With this very much in mind, I would like to thank our District and County Councillor Neil Hatton for his staunch support. Councillor Hatton religiously attends our Council meetings, and articulates our concerns and thoughts to the higher levels of local government.

Finally, I would like to place on the public record my thanks to the whole Council and our Parish Clerk for their loyalty, hard work and conscientious dedication to the Parish and our community.

Cllr D Gartside – Chairman

Download Complete Annual Report, 2007/08